If the wines are made with grapes and these are vegetables, how does a vegan wine differ from a classic one?

If a vegan person is the one who does not ingest products derived from animals, why is a wine vegan , if it comes from a vegetable raw material?

The crux of these issues is in the clarification process to which the wine is subjected during its vinification, before bottling, to clean the broth of impurities.

To clarify wine , one of its phases in its production process , substances such as egg albumin, casein, gelatin, ichthyocolla, etc. can be used. Substances, all of them, derived from animals.

Vegan people cannot consume these wines.

Market demands have conditioned wineries to respond to vegans and the methods already used in the production of organic wines have facilitated the inclusion of products of plant origin in the clarification process of some wines, thus being able to offer wines vegans .

What is a vegan wine? Are there any that are?

  • A vegan wine is a wine suitable for vegan people , that is, free of substances of animal origin or derived from animals.
  • Currently, there are several wineries that produce certified vegan wines , which are clarified during the vinification process with substances of 100% vegetable origin.

Certifications and regulations in Spain

In Spain there is no specific legislative regulation to certify vegan wines and where the requirements are collected so that a wine can be officially considered vegan.

The producers have several certificates issued by private entities to which they can apply to be able to incorporate the vegan quality seal to the labeling of the wines in this category.

They are stamps that provide consumers with the guarantee of purchasing an authentically vegan wine and that allow wineries to expand their market.

In Spain we have the V-Lebel vegan certificate from the Spanish Vegetarian Union and the CCL BevVeg quality label of maximum guarantee.

Characteristics they must have

A vegan wine must present certain characteristics in order to be considered as such and guarantee the consumer the minimum fulfillment of the vegan guarantee .

  • During the manufacturing process you cannot use materials of animal origin .
  • As with organic wines, it is ideal that the grape that produces a vegan wine has not been treated with manure or artificial chemical pesticides.
  • In vegan wines, the amount of sulfites added to the broth for its conservation is not regulated, as is the case with organic wines. The regulations require, for all wines, to detail on the label that it “contains sulfites” if the amount of this chemical compound exceeds 10mg.
  • Many of the wineries that produce vegan wines decide not to add more sulphites than those established as the maximum amount or simply not to add them. The wine itself, during fermentation, naturally produces sulfur compounds. The wines of this typology can be labeled with the indication “ wines without sulphites ”.

Differences between vegan wine and normal wine

The main difference between a vegan wine and a classic wine is found in the type of processing of the broth during winemaking.

During the clarification process of traditional wine , substances of animal origin are used, with the aim of cleaning it and eliminating impurities before bottling.

With vegan wines, a clarification process will be followed for which substances exclusively of plant origin will be used.

The clarifying elements used in the preparation of vegan broths are vegetable proteins extracted from wheat, potatoes, peas, carrageenans (a substance from seaweed and used in food as a stabilizer) or from bentonine, of mineral origin. .

Recommended vegan brands and wines

For vegans, consumers of wines free of traces of animal origin , we show you, below, a classification of 100% vegan white and red wines .

According to the wineries and the variety of grape , white or red , we indicate the following:


  • Albet i Noya Bodegas: one of the pioneering wineries in the production of organic and vegan wines. Origin Catalonia.
  • Altolandon Bodegas: they make Doña Leo white wine with the Muscat grape variety. Cuenca origin.
  • Cuatro Rayas Winery: certified vegan wines: Cuarenta Vendimias Verdejo, Viñedos Centenarios and Organic Verdejo. Origin Valladolid.
  • Bodega Mumbrú Vernet 1918: all its wines have certified vegan wines. Origin Barcelona.
  • Bodega Socorro Fuentes: full range with vegan options. Origin Santa Cruz de Tenerife.
  • Bodega Tagalguén: the entire range makes vegan wines possible. Origin Tenerife.
  • Bodega Valdelosfrailes: range of wines with vegan alternatives. Origin Valladolid.
  • Bodegas Bocopa: full range. Origin Alicante.
  • Bodegas Castaño : full range of wines with vegan alternatives. Leading wines from the southeast of Spain. Origin Murcia.
  • Bodegas Enguera : Blanc d’Enguera wines, Casa Lluch and Gel de Vi. Origin Valencia.
  • Bodegas Fronto : the entire range opens up vegan possibilities. Canary origin.
  • Bodegas GarciGrande : DO Rueda as Señorío de GarciGrande Verdejo wine. Origin Valladolid.
  • Bodegas Juan Gil : the complete range offers vegan wines. Origin Murcia.
  • Bodegas La Purísima : “Old Hands” white wine is vegan. Origin Murcia.
  • Bodegas Luzón : the Hermanas Organic and the organic wines of the brand are suitable and certified as vegan. Origin Murcia.
  • Bodegas Martín Códax : the entire range offers vegan options. Origin Galicia.
  • Bodegas Nodus : wines like You are in the Parra CHAVAL blanco or En la parra blanco are vegan options. Origin Valencia.
  • Bodegas Piqueras : the whole range. Origin Almansa.


  • Bodegas Príncipe de Viana : the entire range is vegan and the following wines are certified: Príncipe de Viana White Garnacha, Chardonnay and White Edition. Origin Navarra.
  • Bodegas Robles : the entire range of Piedra Luenga, Bajoflor, Bajosol, Patachula wines, brut varieties, amontillados, olorosos, vermouths, etc. Origin Córdoba.
  • Bodegas Oro Wines : range in its entirety. Origin Murcia.
  • Codorniu : the entire range is suitable for vegans, except the Ars Collecta. Origin Catalonia.
  • Compañía de Vinos del Atlántico : the entire range is vegan except Zesto Wines, which is not. Origin Cádiz.
  • Freixenet : Organic Cava and Prosecco Extra Dry. Origin Catalonia.
  • Juvé & Camps : full range. Origin Catalonia.
  • La Bodega De Las Estrellas : the full range. Origin Ciudad Real.
  • Marqués De Vizhoja : all of its wines. Origin Galicia.
  • Mateo Wines : Virgen de las Nieves Selección wine and its sirah. Origin Albacete.
  • Torres : wines like Habitato Blanco and Pazo das Bruxas.
  • Vallformosa Cava : the entire range with vegan certification in process. Penedés origin.
  • Vinos Vegal : winery with the first European certificate of vegan guarantee. Murcia.
  • Viña Engracia : full range from this Tenerife winery.
  • Viña La Guancha : general range of the wine known as Zanata. From Tenerife.


  • Aalto Bodegas y Viñedos : Tempranillo grape variety of Ribera del Duero origin. Aalto and Aalto PS range.
  • Albet i Noya : one of the pioneering wineries in the production of organic and vegan wines . Complete range. Origin Catalonia.
  • Altolandon Bodegas: they make several vegan reds: Rayuelo Crianza, Milhistorias Malbec, Milhistorias Garnacha and Milhistorias Boba.
  • Bodega Bermejo : one of the most relevant Canarian wineries nationwide. The whole range. Origin Lanzarote.
  • Bodega Cuatro Rayas : certified vegan wines: Viñedos Centenarios and Organic Tempranillo. Origin Valladolid.
  • Bodega El Lomo : the entire range of its wines has vegan variants. Toga the range. Origin Tenerife.
  • Bodega Sierra Norte : the entire range of its wines has vegan alternatives. Organic Wine 1564 Natural Red. Origin Valencia.
  • Bodega Iniesta : the whole range. Origin Albacete.
  • Bodega Tajinaste : vegan wines in the entire range of its wines. Origin Tenerife.
  • Bodegas Altanza : red and rosé wines suitable for vegans. Origin La Rioja.
  • Bodegas Beronia : wines suitable for vegans: Beronia Rosé 2018, Beronia Reserva 2014, Beronia 198, Barricas 2009, Beronia Tempranillo 2016 and Beronia III BC 2015. La Rioja.
  • Bodegas El Inicio : the entire range of wines offers vegan alternatives. Origin Valladolid.
  • Bodegas Enguera : Casa Lunch Crianza, Distinto, Joven, Megala, Paradigma, Finca Enguera, Reserva and Sueño de Megala wines. Origin Valencia.
  • Bodegas Ferrera : full range. Origin Tenerife.
  • Bodegas Monje : full range. Origin Tenerife.
  • Bodegas Nodus : wines like You are in the CHAVAL vine or En la parra tinto, are vegan options. Origin Valencia.
  • Bodegas Patrocinio : El Cuarto Tempranillo (Rioja red wine, certified vegan). Origin La Rioja.
  • Bodegas Piedra : the entire range is vegan. Piedra Natural wine is vegan certified. Origin Toro.
  • Bodegas Príncipe de Viana : the entire range is vegan: Principe de Viana, Crianza, Reserva, etc. Navarre.
  • Bodegas Valdelacierva (Rioja) : wines such as Valdelacierva Reserva 2014, Grano a Grano 2016, etc. The Rioja.
  • Bodegas Venta La Vega : the entire range of reds is vegan: Ternario 1 Joven, Ternario 2, Ternario 10 and Los Adaras. Origin Albacete.
  • Bodegas y Viñedos Gormaz : the entire range is suitable for vegans. The wines 12 Linajes Reserva, Finca Los Arenales and Grano a Grano. Origin Ribera del Duero.
  • Bodegas Bokeh : Vegan Return Red wine with certificate. Origin La Rioja.
  • BBV Bodegas : various wines such as Toro Loco, Crianza, Memoria Edition, Hermanito, Orgánico, Reserva, Rose, Superior. Origin Valencia.
  • Celler Piñol : red wines are suitable for vegans. Origin Tarragona.
  • CVNE (Compañía Vitivinícola del Norte de Españá): wines such as Asúa Crianza, Cune Reserva and Gran Reserva, Imperial Reserva and Gran Reserva, Real de Asúa and Pagos de Viña Real. Rioja origin.
  • Davida : DO Navarra and without added sulphites. It is the vegan wine available at Mercadona. Origin Navarra.
  • La Rioja Alta : the whole set of wines. Origin La Rioja.
  • Las Margas : the red wine PDO Cariñena suitable for vegans. Origin Navarra.
  • Marqués de Cáceres : complete range. Origin La Rioja.
  • Marqués de Riscal : the entire range. Origin Álava.
  • Mateo Wines : Virgen de las Nieves Selección wine and its sirah. Origin Albacete.
  • Sirot : vegan cherry wine. Origin Barcelona.
  • Tanajara Wines : full range of its reds. Isla del Hierro origin.
  • Torres : Altos Ibericos Crianza, Reserva, Parcelas de Graciano, Atrium Merlot, etc.
  • Upavita : full range. DO Util-Requena.
  • Bronze wine : the entire range. Canarian organic red.
  • Sanz wines : full range. Origin Valladolid.
  • Vega Norte wines : full range. Originally from La Palma.
  • Viñarda Wines: full range of wines from the volcanic lands of La Palma.
  • Viña Bujanda : full range. From La Rioja Alavesa.
  • Viña La Guancha : complete range of the wine known as Zanata. From Tenerife.
  • Viñedos y Bodegas de la Marquesa : full range, except Valserrano Crianza 2013. Origin Álava.

The demand for vegan products has generally increased.

greater awareness of animals and healthier lifestyle cause every day there are more vegetarians, vegans and consumers of ecological and organic products.

The production of vegan and organic wines is an alternative for many people who like wine and want to establish a respectful relationship with the environment.

The diversity of production and adaptation to the needs set by the market, based on consumer preferences, conditions that producers innovate and respond to new demands.

In this way, vegan wines have already become part of the wide range of wines and their different types.

Dr. Sofia Seccombe

My name is Dr. Sofia Seccombe, and in this small section, I want to tell you who I am and why I started this project. I don't want to bore you, but I consider that it is an important part of godlywine. It serves as an exercise in transparency so that the person who reads the articles can be sure that the information is reliable.

Leave a Reply